• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML How to change layer of all instances of a specific object?

A

Airidas

I'm a beginner in Game Maker Studio 2 and I am trying to add a special feature to my game, but I just can't make it work fully, due to that the instances created by "room_instance_add" appear above every other instance in my room and I can't fix it completely with function "layer_add_instance", since it requires instance_id and cannot work with objects.

The idea (so you can get a little understanding of what I'm doing).

In my game, you kill enemies and after they die, they turn into dead bodies (separate objects).The levels (rooms) of the game can be played again. I want to do, so the dead bodies (created in the previous play) will turn into skeletons the next time you play the very same level (room) and remain there all the time.

What I have done
I have already figured out that I can easily replace dead bodies (enemy_DCU_D) with skeletons (enemy_DCU_Skeleton) and make them remain in that room through out the game using these lines of code:

Code:
while (instance_exists(enemy_DCU_D))
    {
        var furthest_enemy = instance_furthest(1,1,enemy_DCU_D);
        room_instance_add(Mountains_1,furthest_enemy.x,furthest_enemy.y,enemy_DCU_Skeleton);
        instance_destroy(furthest_enemy);

}
This code works, but there is a one flaw. The created skeletons are above every other instance in the room (depth).

What I have tried

I have experimented and tried with various functions, and the below one made me go closest to my goal, however it is still lacking, since it is very slow and cannot change layer of instances at the same x position.

Code: