• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How to achieve this effect?

So I want to punch through one layer based on contents on another. Hopefully the attached image will demonstrate. Ideally I want it setup as follow; I have mountains on layer_1, a wall on layer_2 and layer_3 I want to have any pixel that is 255,0,255 to allow layer_1 to show through.

I cant pre-bake these images etc as the game play I have planned will all be random and this is just an example not actual game.

I thought maybe a layer_shader() (am I am new to shaders), so as a test I combined layer_2 and layer_3 ( making the 'wall' and the 'cutouts' into objects) and in the shader set the alpha of any pixel that is 255,0,255 to 0 but that just made the 'cutout' objects transparent and did not affect any of the 'wall' object pixels.

Thinking I might need to push the layer(s) onto a surface or texture and then run the shader? Can anyone point in the right direction?

Attachments

jo-thijs

So I want to punch through one layer based on contents on another. Hopefully the attached image will demonstrate. Ideally I want it setup as follow; I have mountains on layer_1, a wall on layer_2 and layer_3 I want to have any pixel that is 255,0,255 to allow layer_1 to show through.

I cant pre-bake these images etc as the game play I have planned will all be random and this is just an example not actual game.