• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM How do I save player location after switching room?

H

HenrikoNumberOne

Hi! I'm pretty new to Game Maker Studio and coding, but what I've managed to create this far is really making me motivated to want to learn more! I am currently trying to remake the original The Legend of Zelda for the NES in Game Maker Studio 1.4, but I am having a bit of trouble saving the player location after entering and exiting a dungeon / cave. What I want to achieve is having the player spawn right outside the cave they entered before on the over-world. If anyone has a (relatively) simple solution please tell me!

Thanks in advance.
- Henriko

Graphic Example:

Link enters cave

Link leaves the cave

What I want: Link spawns outside the cave

What currently happens: Link spawns at the default instance creation point, far away from the cave entrance.

obscene

When the player leaves a room (room end event) save that room ID in a variable with something like from_room.

When you enter the next room, I assume your doorways have code which tells the player which room to go to. So check them all using "with" for a match. Example....

Code:
with (obj_doorway)
 {
 if room_destination == obj_player.room_from
   {
   obj_player.x=x;
   obj_player.y=y+64;
   }
 }
There's probably more to it than that but that's the principle.

H

HenrikoNumberOne

When the player leaves a room (room end event) save that room ID in a variable with something like from_room.

When you enter the next room, I assume your doorways have code which tells the player which room to go to. So check them all using "with" for a match. Example....

Code:
with (obj_doorway)
 {