• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker How do i make a command execute when the animation gets on a certain frame?

T

Tyskaro

Hello everyone, i'm not so good in english, so forgive me if i make some mistake...

Recently i started learning how to programm and i was watching some tutorials, but sometimes i try alone doing something... And after trying for some time i made like 90% of what i was planning, that was an melee attack that sends a wave on the enemies and hits them... But, the wave spawns when i start the animation (The first frame), and i want it to spawn on the 7º frame...

if
{
instance_create_layer(x,y, layer, Aqua_1);

Combo = 0;
}

Basically the code makes a object (Aqua_1) that is the wave... So, the ideia is

if (The animation is on the 7º frame)

But i dont know whats the command for this... i tried Image_index... But it didnt worked (the code was written on a script... And i used sprite_index to set the animation for the Object)

Slyddar

image_index is a decimal, so you need to be sure you are not using an equals when comparing it, unless you floor() it first.
So you can do :
Code:
if image_index >= 7 {
  //run your code
}
or :
Code:
if floor(image_index) == 7 {
  //run your code
}
But note that it may unintentionally run multiple times, as it will run whenever that condition is true. If you need a way to ensure it only runs once, usually you can use a flag for that, which is just a boolen variable that you set to false once it runs. So something like:
Code:
//create event
has_run = false;
Code:
//step event
if !has_run and floor(image_index) == 7 {
  has_run = true;
  //run your code
}

Rob