• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How do I change animated player sprite for few seconds?

M

Mindaugas

Hello fellow programers. I'm a newbie, so this hopefully won't be a difficult one. Ok, so I'm going through Shawn Spaldings tutorial about ''powerups''. He uses a simple block which changes color and jumps higher for 5secs with this code in obj_powerup colision with the player event:

jumpspeed = jumpspeed_powerup;
sprite_index = spr_player_powerup;
alarm [0] = 300;

(and later changes back the sprite to ''spr_player'' in player's alarm0 event)

The problem is that I'm not using 2 simple one image different color block sprites. I have 4 different sprites which are:
spr_player_idle;
spr_player_running;
spr_player_idle_powerup;
spr_player_running_powerup.

idle ones consists of 18 images and the running ones consists of 8 images (idk if that matters)

my sprites are animated by Shawn's ''animation'' tutorial, with a code in player's step event which is:

if (move !=0) image_xscale = move;
if (place_meeting (x, y+1, obj_wall))
{{
if (move !=0) sprite_index = spr_player_running;
else sprite_index = spr_player_idle;
}
image_speed = 0.2}

(i thought that copying this into powerup's colision event with sprite names changed will be enough, unfortunately it wasn't)

YoSniper

One thing I like to recommend to people: Finite State Machines are your friend.

They make your code a lot more readable, and convenient to you later.

Here's my plan.

In your Create Event
Code:
state = "IDLE";
has_powerup = false;
In your Step Event
Code:
switch(state) {
    case "IDLE":
        if has_powerup {
            sprite_index = spr_player_idle_powerup;
        } else {