• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How do i apply Dijkstra's algorithm?

V

Vlad13

Hello, people!
I'm extremely new to GMS/gamedev (few days), have poor computer science background but have desire to figure things out.
Last week by accident I miraculously found a single one IT vacancy (GMS developer) in my small town, requirements weren't so strict.
I got an instant realisation of a chance to become a junior game developer and finally to get a job where someone would teach me.
Got a test technical task from them – to make a platformer.
Now I have only 4 days. After googling stuff i decided to ask you guys for help, especially regarding Dijkstra's algorithm.

If you don't mind i put here whole technical task:
Don't use drag and drop game creation mechanics. Code only.
1. The game must consist of one room. There is a hero in the room that we control.
2. The room should have 2 levels of platforms, each of which can have a vertical wall at the top and / or bottom.
3. When you enter the game, a coin is randomly generated on one of the platforms. After the hero picks up a coin, the coin is generated in a different place, but not next to the hero. After picking up 10 coins, the level restarts.
Знімок екрана 2020-08-10 о 22.04.26.png
4. Position, shape (vertical walls) and the number of platforms are generated randomly.
5. The character (player) is animated and can walk left, right, jump.
6. Implement enemy that chases (flies) after the player at a speed of 0.8 times the speed of the hero, bypassing the platforms (Dijkstra's algorithm).