• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How can I learn to make good sprites for my game?

B

brogrammerbitz

Hello, everybody. I have had 9 years of Game Maker experience, primarily with coding, and recently I have wanted to be able to create my own sprites. I try time and time again to produce something worthy of use, but I always end up finding stuff online and changing it in minor ways to call it my own. I have this idea for a game that I want to start making (I already have a partial engine created that I will expand upon) and I want to be able to make sprites for it.

I have watched all sorts of videos and read all sorts of guides on making pixel art for sprites and whatnot, but nothing seems to help me no matter how much I practice. I have had no luck finding people willing to create sprites and whatnot for my project, so I want to be able to take that task into my own hands if I absolutely have to. I will just need to learn to make the pixel art that I want.

This is a sprite strip from a cancelled game of mine. It's about as far as my spriting abilities go:
gn.png

If anybody could give me some advice/tutorials/guides to help me get started with making pixel art and stuff, please let me know what I can do/look at! It would be really appreciated! Thanks!

-Bitz

G

gamedev4life

imo, there NOTHING like having a teacher work with you through the process. as soon as u have a question, the teacher can help u out with exactly what you need instead of having to go online and search and read and do trial and error etc just to get that piece of info u need.