Hours of Hardwork Marketing

Discussion in 'Game Design, Development And Publishing' started by JayR, Sep 27, 2018.

1. JayR

JayR Member

Not sure if this is the right place... But how do you guys market your game? After spending hours working on a game you'd hope of people to be playing it and giving you constructive criticism, maybe a couple of compliments like "This is a FUN game!" to keep you going. What if no one cares? Maybe no one knows your game even existed? Perhaps no one knows how to find it? What can a small developer do to reach out to them amidst the noise of behemoths ever dominating the market?

2. NazGhuL

NazGhuL NazTaiL

Hi. My game will be out October 8th. Steam page right here: https://store.steampowered.com/app/939540/Space_Ashes/
    I'm a one man developer and marketing is probably the most difficult task I ever did. :D
    Get at least 1 social media account. (I choose twitter)
    Get a webpage.
    Post with accurate hashtag like #indiedev, #gamedev, etc...
    This video is very accurate on the process:

As for now, I delivered around 50 mails with press-steam key to press and youtubers.
    I released around 30 keys to different Steam Curators.
    Still posting on it.
    Just saying 'this is a fun' game is not enough.
    You have to keep working hard and create a very good game with a lot of love in it!

Some will. If it's good enough.

That will surely happens. Don't worry.

Twitter, webpage and this problem is fixed.

Work/create with passion. (And by the way, this works in every sphere of your life. Some call this Karma.)

JayR and IndianaBones like this.
  3. Genetix

Genetix Member

First and foremost - Share (but don't spam) your game with friends & family.

Make sure that you are taking advantage of social media, post screenshots, GIFS, and videos of your project across Youtube, Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, Forums (such as this one), and anywhere else you can think of.