• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Holding Out Your Game's Visibility

Posho

All I've ever shown on the internet are prototypes and game jams, but I've never really shown this full-length project that I've been working for arguably three years. I love getting feedback and attention just like the next guy but -in my head- it seems that showing off a project that is going to be sold in a state where it looks too "alpha" could be harmful and give the wrong first impressions, as the development progresses the project will eventually stop being a novelty and fade away.

Is this thinking, dumb? I am also afraid of showing much without getting a hold of a Copyright, because it has happened 3 times that my games were blatantly ripped off from close Twitter followers, so there's no way I'm showing anything unprepared anymore.

Dunno, I feel like I'm wasting a big opportunity by hiding my project, but also feel like it's the right thing to do.

YanBG

Mobile or PC? Most people that see alpha games aren't the average player on say steam, showing your game early would be helpful for a big project, not so for small i guess(because you'll know what to do).

Your games were ripped off, how so? You have copyright over graphics and other assets as soon as you create them.

Posho

Mobile or PC? Most people that see alpha games aren't the average player on say steam, showing your game early would be helpful for a big project, not so for small i guess(because you'll know what to do).
It's an story-based action adventure game. And oddly enough, it'll be for both Mobile and PC. I know this genre is odd for Mobile, but I'm happy to say that it runs and feels nice to play on mobile.