• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Help With Starting Out

L

Lawson

Hi, I'm really new to GameMaker and I just had a quick, simple question. When coding an event, is there any way I can code freely without using the toolbox? The event is just a gray box and the only way to add to it is to drag commands from the toolbox. I would really prefer to just type by myself instead. Thanks in advance!

G

GameMakerPero

In the future, post such questions in the "programming" forum.

If you are in GMS2, right click on your event and change event to code. I believe this is an option when you start a project.

I have never used earlier versions, but seeing older tutorials, there will be a code box on the right hand side that you can drag over to your events list.

Since your question is so basic, I highly suggest putting in some time on youtube, such as starting here for GMS2. He has some older ones too.

chamaeleon

Hi, I'm really new to GameMaker and I just had a quick, simple question. When coding an event, is there any way I can code freely without using the toolbox? The event is just a gray box and the only way to add to it is to drag commands from the toolbox. I would really prefer to just type by myself instead. Thanks in advance!