help with start menu array

beanzlol

I am new to game maker. I am trying to create a start menu based on these tutorials.
the second tutorial appears to account for the recent array changes. They work well mostly but in menu case 2 (options) it refuses to take me to the corresponding options sub menu. It instead it uses either case 1 (load) or case 3(exit game) depending on the direction I scroll into case 2.
I keep looking for errors but I cannot find any. I feel like I am messing up something very simple.
Here is my code. Thank y'all for your help.

version IDE v2.3.5.589

obj_techincal_Page
event: create

GML:
/// variables

#macro main            0
#macro settings        1

Tmenu[main][0] = "SAVE";
Tmenu[main][1] = "LOAD";
Tmenu[main][2] = "OPTIONS";
Tmenu[main][3] = "EXIT GAME";

Tmenu[settings][0] = "GRAPHICS"
Tmenu[settings][1] = "AUDIO"
Tmenu[settings][2] = "CONTROLS"
Tmenu[settings][3] = "BACK"

Tindex = 0;
TSub_Menu = main;

obj_techincal_Page
event: step
GML:
///// Rindex

var _up = keyboard_check_pressed(vk_up);
var _down = keyboard_check_pressed(vk_down);
var _select = keyboard_check_pressed(vk_enter);

var _move = _down - _up;
if _move != 0
{  
    Tindex += _move;

var _size = array_length(Tmenu[TSub_Menu]);
    if Tindex < 0 Tindex = _size -1;
    else if Tindex >= _size Tindex = 0;
}

//// select things to happen

if _select {
    switch(TSub_Menu) {
        case main:// main menu
            switch(Tindex) {
                case 0:///save
                room_goto(room_save);
                break;
                case 1:///load
                room_goto(room_load);
                break;
                case 2:
                TSub_Menu = settings;
                Tindex = 0;
                break;
                case 3:    ///exit game
                game_end()
                break;
}
break;
        case settings:
        switch(Tindex) {
            case 0:///GRAPCHICS
            room_goto(room_save);
            break;