• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Help With My Turn Based Combat System

E

Exlo

This will be my first post here so, first of all, hello and thanks for taking the time to read about my problem. I'm really sorry if it's a bit of a read.

I'm very new to GMS and coding in general, so I've of course jumped straight into something way out of my league by trying to create a turn based RPG. I've learned a lot over the course of these 2 months and truly believe I can do it, but there must be something fundamental I'm misunderstanding here. This is my third crack at this, and keep in mind I'm likely dreadfully disorganized and probably have some terrible habits code-wise. Any tips to remedy these issues are more than welcome. I will try to explain the system as concisely as possible, but keep in mind I've never really asked for help yet, so I'm new even to this. I'm willing to share the project file if necessary. The exact nature of the issue is that characters don't seem to even do anything on the combat screen, though I think I've finally figured out how to reference all the data and use all the structures provided properly. However, if anyone can clearly explain accessors in the context I am using them, it would be much appreciated. I think I understand them finally but when I would see examples of use it had me confused more often than not.