GML Help With "instance_create" (Solved)

W

wozzlewuzzle

Hello,
I'm fairly new to game maker and gml code with this being my first post, so this may be a simple question to people more experienced.
Code:
instance_create(x+61,y+34,obj_bullet)
The code here is used in my platformer game and I want to create an object called obj_bullet at a specific place on my player's sprite. I know in the drag-and-drop icon for "Create Instance" has a box to check off if you want to create the object relative to another object but i want to know how to do it using code. The way I have it above doesn't seem to be working so any help would be appreciated, thanks.

M

mahre

Hello,
I'm fairly new to game maker and gml code with this being my first post, so this may be a simple question to people more experienced.
Code:
instance_create(x+61,y+34,obj_bullet)
The code here is used in my platformer game and I want to create an object called obj_bullet at a specific place on my player's sprite. I know in the drag-and-drop icon for "Create Instance" has a box to check off if you want to create the object relative to another object but i want to know how to do it using code. The way I have it above doesn't seem to be working so any help would be appreciated, thanks.
If that instance_create isn't inside the player, you should use instance_create(x.obj_player+61, y.obj_player+31, obj_bullet) instead

A

anthropus

The instance create code should be in the object that is creating the bullet; and it should be conditional--should happen only when u want it to happen, like when u push the shoot button THEN create the bullet. You'll probably also want a variable and alarm to control the rate of fire also in the object that is firing the bullet.
and in the bullet object you should have the code for attributes if the bullet like it's speed, damage, collision, etc

A

arirish