• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Help! Player goes missing ! [SOLVED]

V

Valcia

this code is in my creation code of my player
< //HP
_hp = 10;

healthbar_width = 285;
healthbar_height = 48;

healthbar_x = 40;
healthbar_y = 0;
//100 pixels above the player />

so i created a draw event, then i made a script like this
if (_hp == 9 )
{
draw_sprite(spr_health_9,0,healthbar_x,healthbar_y)
}
but after using the draw event my player goes missing and the healthbar is not there too idk why.
Please be kind, im quite new to game maker

forgot to mention:
if the player touches the enemy, his hp -= 1;

If you put any code inside of an objects draw event, it cancels all automatic drawing. You'll have to put
Code:
draw_self();
In the draw event alongside your other code to get it to draw itself. Also, your healthbar_x and healthbar_y is not set to 100 pixels above the player. It's set simply to an x position of 40 and a y position of 0 in the room. You'll need to constantly update the position and also make it relative to the instances x and y position like this:

Create Event
Code:
healthbar_x = x-40;
healthbar_y = y-100;
Step Event:
Code:
healthbar_x = x-40; // Here we constantly update the position so when the player moves, the healthbar moves as well
healthbar_y = y-100;
You'll probably have to tweak those values to get it where you want it, but notice that it's x plus something and y plus something. That means that where ever the instance is, healthbar_x and healthbar_y will be positioned relative to the x and y of the instance according to the numeric values you put there.

V

Valcia