• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

HELP ME PLZ

reipor

I want to make a system for buttons that when you press them you have 5 seconds until it returns to normal

GML:
//create event
timerpressed = false

//alarm0 event
timerpressed = false

//step event

if place_meeting (x,y,obj_player){
    timerpressed = true
     alarm[0] = 300;
}
if timerpressed = false{
    sprite_index = botao_unpressed_04

}

if timerpressed = true{
    sprite_index = botao_pressed_04
}
if you could help me, i am new and i am still learning

Try this.
GML:
//Mouse Pressed event
timer_pressed = true;                //This sets onyour flag
alarm[0] = room_speed*5;        //5 is the duration in seconds
sprite_index = botao_pressed_04;   //Reset your sprite

//Alarm 0 event
timer_pressed = false;               //This sets it off 5 seconds later
sprite_index = botao_unpressed_04;   //Reset your sprite

reipor

Try this.
GML:
//Mouse Pressed event
timer_pressed = true;                //This sets onyour flag
alarm[0] = room_speed*5;        //5 is the duration in seconds
sprite_index = botao_pressed_04;   //Reset your sprite

//Alarm 0 event
timer_pressed = false;               //This sets it off 5 seconds later
sprite_index = botao_unpressed_04;   //Reset your sprite

Mouse Pressed event (???)

why mouse pressed event?

ok, communication breakdown here.
If you mean the human in front of the computer that clicks with his mouse cursor on a GUI button, then yes, use mouse_pressed or mouse_release event, not the step, and not place_meeting

If you mean like a player opening a chest like in Zelda then no, dont use mouse events

reipor

ok, communication breakdown here.