• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker [HELP] How to make an action RPG shield

A

ArKeid0s

Hello I am a beginner on GMS and I'm making an action RPG game in the style of children of morta or eitr. I would like to create a shield for my player and I would like to make it possible to block enemies attacks. My big problem is that I have no idea of how to do that ^^
If there is already an answer of my problem please link it (I have already seen tutorials for top down shield all around the player for the shump but it is not what I am looking for) if not please help me ! :D

The-any-Key

Step 1 create a sprite of a shield.
Step 2 make you player equip it.
Step 3 create a shield block button.
Step 4 when enemy hit you check if player block then don't deal damage.

W

Woochi

A directional shield? If so, for that you need the characters facing direction, as well as the point_direction() towards the attack (from character's as reference): Within a certain angle range of players facing direction, block the attack. If you want a shield in the sense of a barrier, see post above

A

ArKeid0s

No I would like a directional shield but I'm totally new to GMS so could you help me a little bit more please. Thanks

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
@The-any-Key: you're not particularly helpful, point 4 in your bulleted list basically was a vague rephrasal of the original question...

@ArKeid0s:
One idea: just draw a shield on the player. When you hit an enemy attack, do something like this to see if the attack hit you in the shield or somewhere else:
Code:
if(abs(angle_difference(other.direction + 180,player_facing_direction)) < shield_angle_tolerance){