• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Hello World! - Absolute beginner advice needed.

T

ThatMellon

Hello everyone!

(Apologies in advance if i'm not following guidelines properly, i couldn't see an introduction page)

I downloaded a trail version GMS2.3 which i'm planning on buying when i next get paid. So far i'm loving it, yet to use the drag and drop system as i've heard writing code can save you a few headaches down the line (plus i like a challenge... sometimes...) . The truth is; i'm an absolute beginner when it comes to code. GML is the first official code i've started to learn. I've heard its fairly flexible with other types of coding platforms (in terms of understanding how code works) which is absolutely fantastic. As things stand i probably know more on how to make a simple platformer in GML than i do using D&D (i took a look but i'd rather learn to use code, makes me feel far cleverer-er that way).
So if you've got this far; you probably know what's coming...

Whats the best way for an absolute beginner (like me) to learn to use GML?
Any books, courses or video recommendations you would suggest?
Any specific mathematical disciplines i should pursue before diving in fully? (might save me a few headaches)
What are some simple to make game ideas i could make for educational purposes?
Who am i!?

I'll give a little background of myself since you've come this far (also; thanks for reading all the way to here, you're an absolute legend!!).