1. Hey! Guest! The 34th GMC Jam will take place between August 22nd, 12:00 UTC (Thursday noon) and August 26th, 12:00 UTC (Monday noon). Why not join in! Click here to find out more!
    Dismiss Notice

Health and Damage?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Mori Senpai, Jan 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mori Senpai

Mori Senpai Member

I've been looking into health bars and I am VERY new to the gamemaking community. I have a deadline in 4 weeks and I'm trying to figure out how to implement damage and healthbars. I aimed to have the enemies and main character have health bars. None of the characters shoot projectiles. I have two sets of enemies and two bosses.

The first enemy is a porcupine, and I wanted to make it where upon contact, the player takes damage. But I also wanted that to have a sort of delay, so multiple strikes could hit before damage comes again. Then I wanted to have them have 20 health.

Then there are snakes, which I wanted to deal damage after a set animation.

The main character I wanted to also deal damage after a set animation (I set a sprite when you press space)

I tried putting a healthbar by drawing a rectangle to fit inside my healthbar, but when damage was dealt to my character, the entire thing went all the way to the left (since the health bar fills right and empties to the left) and then continued to move past the farthest x and y value before stopping WAY past the bar. This is my first game and I've been left to do the code on my own.

I've been using dnd, but also writing out code through execute code.

2. TheouAegis

TheouAegis Member

The first two you could have Googled yourself. The health park going that far down, we would need to see what could you use. It is probably an issue with the math.

3. Neptune

Neptune Member

Just yesterday I implemented a nice health bar system, but it doesnt use built-in functions or DND, so I don't know how to help :\

Here is basic health bar math:
    Code: