Legacy GM Having problem clearing Particles/Memory Leak

I'm not experienced with particles really at all, I've looked all over but I cant fix my problem.
This is for a 2D Platformer.

I followed this tutorial online to help get myself familiarized with particles - https://gamedevelopment.tutsplus.co...e-gamemaker-studio-particle-system--cms-22782

i replicated the first one, the green fire effect that just sits there, here's my code -
Code:
///Creation

FirstParticleSystem = part_system_create();
first_particle = part_type_create();
part_system_depth(FirstParticleSystem,1);
part_type_shape(first_particle,pt_shape_square);
part_type_scale(first_particle,1,1);
part_type_size(first_particle,0.050,0.055,-.001,0);
part_type_color2(first_particle,8454143,65280);
part_type_alpha2(first_particle,1,0.75);
part_type_speed(first_particle,0.1,0.5,0,0);
part_type_direction(first_particle,0,359,0,0);
part_type_gravity(first_particle,0.02,90);
part_type_orientation(first_particle,0,359,10,0,true);
part_type_life(first_particle,100,150);
part_type_blend(first_particle,true);

first_emitter = part_emitter_create(FirstParticleSystem);
part_emitter_region(FirstParticleSystem, first_emitter, x-20, x+20, y-20, y+20, ps_shape_ellipse, ps_distr_gaussian);
part_emitter_stream(FirstParticleSystem,first_emitter,first_particle,2);

Code:
///Room End Event

part_type_destroy(first_particle); 
part_emitter_destroy(first_emitter, first_particle); 
part_system_destroy(FirstParticleSystem);

This is just a standalone object, I wanted to go this route because of what I am using them for with ease (and because thats just how i know how to use them) such as like this
https://imgur.com/a/6sy91OQ

----------------------------------------------------
My problem is that I cannot clear the particles when I quit the game. So if I were to force the game to move to the title screen from the pause menu, the particles will stay there thus causing a memory leak.