Greetings from a noob.

R

Raizek

Greetings! I am Raizek and I am a 25 year old Canadian! I am a pen and paper artist, meaning I draw a lot but I've never translated it to photoshop or anything else by computer. Despite never being involved in game-making, lately I have an itch to create my perfect game. So far my journey has lead me here.

I would like to ask, how do you guys create game? What I mean is, how do you structure a project?

I have plenty of ideas for a solid game, but no clue as to where to start. I have gone thru a few tutorials about coding, but I am still baffled about how to structure a game. Should I work on the engine of the game first? Should I structure it like it will be played? From room A to Z? Should all the artwork be done first or last?

Now, I imagine there is no right answer, there's must plenty of people who have different ways of doing things, but I'd just like a few ideas and pointers to help me out.

I doubt this will be my last question, but I gotta start somewhere!

A

Aura

I would like to ask, how do you guys create game? What I mean is, how do you structure a project?
With style~

Jokes apart, most of us didn't create huge plans for our first games. You shouldn't either. Simply start working on a game, grasp the basics and so on. Project management is not something that you should learn before anything else.

Should I work on the engine of the game first? Should I structure it like it will be played? From room A to Z? Should all the artwork be done first or last?
You are over complicating things too much for a first game. Don't make huge plans just yet, because you'll come to know that making large-scale games is no easy buisness. As for the artwork, I prefer the prototype art method but when I am talking about a starter game, I'll add the graphics first or alongwith coding as ideas strike me.

Relax, take a deep breath, follow the tutorials and kickstart your journey~<3

G

Greenhawk