• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Grapple with sprites

I

Insidious Crow

I’m fairly new to gamemaker studio 2 and want to create a rope swing type game but I want to texture the rope and grappling hook with sprites instead of just drawing a line between two points. I also want the rope to shoot out and extend until it hits a surface instead of just appearing.
Please help.

T

Taddio

What do you have so far?
I would do an obj_target, an obj_hook and a variable hooked. When you fire obj_hook with a button and if both obj_hook and obj_target collision, set hooked to true and allow the player to use the rope.
As for the rope itself, lenghtdir would he useful, as well as some sine (or whatever looks/feels good) function for the swinging.
Jumping off the rope according to it's swing could be a little more involved if you want it super smooth.
I'd say it's one of those easy-ish to do at it's basic form, but hard to really nail down to feel smooth and fluid. Will probably require quite a bit of tweaking, especially if you're just starting out.

I

Insidious Crow

So far I literally just copied Shaun Spalding’s rope swing tutorial. So based on that I know how to make a simple rope swing mechanic and I already know how to fire projectiles. What I don’t know is how to combine them together and how to stretch an object/sprite to simulate the rope extending.

I

immortalx

Since you want to use a sprite for the rope, it won't look at all like a rope texture if you stretch it enough.