Golf game trouble

Hello!
I am a beginner in programming and am still trying to research methods of code but have found it very difficult. At the moment I am trying to create a top-down golf game but am having trouble figuring out how to make it. I want it so that when I click and drag the ball, it launches its self. Can anyone help? Thanks!

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
Hello! I can help with this as my game Microscope Madness uses this same mechanic. :)

So, basically, you want to do the following:

1) Detect the click on the ball by the user
2) Set the range that the user can drag and only permit the user to drag in that range
3) When the user lets go of the mouse button, use the distance from the mouse to the ball to calculate the force and the direction

In code this will look something like the following:

GML:
// CREATE EVENT OF BALL
clicked = false;    // Used to check when the ball is clicked on
moving = false;        // Used to check if the ball is moving
max_dist = 100;        // The maximum distance the mouse can move from the ball
power_scalar = 10;    // Power scalar value used to determine shot power
friction = 0.1;        // General friction

// STEP EVENT
if !moving
{
if !clicked
    {
    // Check if the player clicks the ball
    if mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_left)
        {
        if point_in_circle(x, y, mouse_x, mouse_y, sprite_width / 2)
            {
            clicked = true;
            }
        }
    }
else
    {
    // Check if the player releases the mouse button
    if mouse_check_button_released(mb_left)
        {
        // Get the distance the player moved the mouse and clamp it
        var _dist = point_distance(mouse_x, mouse_y, x, y);
        _dist = clamp(_dist, 0, max_dist);
        // Get the direction the ball has to move in
        var _dir = point_direction(mouse_x, mouse_y, x, y);
        // Move the ball
        hspeed = lengthdir_x(_dist / power_scalar, _dir);