• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Discussion GMS2 Sprite editor - Rotate layer or selection

S

Stefano88

Hello GM community, my name is Stefano and I'm new to GM and game programming in general.

I enjoyed my trial version of GM2 for a few days now. I went through the first tutorial and now was looking up the nice sprite editor. I can't manage to rotate a selected part of a frame though (not even an entire layer). It seems that I can only rotate the entire sprite (and only by 90° or multiples).
Is there a solution without the use of another software? Am I missing something?

S

Stefano88

http://docs2.yoyogames.com/index.html?page=source/_build/2_interface/1_editors/images.html

See the section on Tools > Rotate Tool. Note you must make a selection then rotate that with the tool, or, make a BRUSH from the section (just select and CTRL + C), then rotate that.

;)
That's the problem:
I use the Rectangle select tool and select the area that I want to rotate. Then I click on the Rotate brush tool (I only have that one) wich immediately creates a copy of the area and transforms it into a brush. I want to rotate the area without creating a new brush from it.

D

Deleted member 13992