• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GMS2 - Collision for Mouse_x position not working

M

Morfic

Hi all. I am new to programming, and this program. I have an object that follows the mouse cursor position at a certain speed. That object can jump when I left click, and it obeys gravity and vertical collision.
However, for some reason the object walks right through horizontal walls. Is there any pointers you could lend me? Heres my code:

GML:
//Get Player Input

mouse_jump = mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_left);

//Calculate Movement

hsp = move_towards_point(mouse_x,y,4)
vsp = vsp + grv;
if (place_meeting(x,y+1,oWall)) && (mouse_jump)
{
    vsp = -7;
}

//Horizontal Collision

if (place_meeting(x+hsp,y,oWall))
{
    while (!place_meeting(x+sign(hsp),y,oWall))
    {
        x = x + sign(hsp);  
    }
    hsp = 0;  
}
x = x + hsp;

//Vertical Collision

if (place_meeting(x,y+vsp,oWall))
{
    while (!place_meeting(x,y+sign(vsp),oWall))
    {
        y = y + sign(vsp);  
    }
    vsp = 0;  
}
y = y + vsp;

Last edited by a moderator:

davawen

Well, first, move_towards_point is a black box, if you look in the documentation, it returns N/A, and will move your object completely independently of whatever collision system you have, instead you want to calculate the speed yourself.

(btw you can get nice looking code with the code balise)
GML:
var hsp = sign(mouse_x - x)*wanted_speed;
//Also, in multiple places you do
a = a+7;
//But you can just use operators, it makes it easier to read
a += 7;
a -= 7;
a *= 7;
a /= 7;

Yal

šŸ§ *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
hsp = move_towards_point(mouse_x,y,4)