• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GMOC: Tool for creating objects

Phil Strahl

I was up with always having to manually create and wire up my objects with scripts in Game Maker so I coded this little tool that did it for me, incl. template code snippets etc. I have been using it for the past two years, I thought it was time to share it with the world, well, or other Game Maker developers.

Here's a video demonstration of what it does:

And here's the link to itch.io where you can download it for free, but a little donation is highly appreciated ;)
ā–ŗ https://pixelprophecy.itch.io/gmoc

KurtBlissZ

I actually been looking into xml to make something like this.

Only complaint is you can't easily switch between different templates but as a work around I just made shortcuts to GMOC exe and have the program run in it's own directory, so each shortcut can work as its own template.

I hope to see more improvements to this, not sure if the benefit is going to be enough at the moment for me to worry about setting everything up.

Phil Strahl

Thanks for giving it a try. Sounds like perhaps a command-line version of GMOC would be useful to you where you can pass individual templates as arguments or something...

KurtBlissZ

Thanks for giving it a try. Sounds like perhaps a command-line version of GMOC would be useful to you where you can pass individual templates as arguments or something...
Nah, the work around I mention would probably be easier. I was thinking of just adding a drop down menu where you could pick what template that you wanted to use.