• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GM8: Having problems changing the background.

Hey guys!

I am kind of new to gml.
I know the basics and currently I'm practising a lot and experimenting with new things. I (still) use Game maker 8. But now to my problem:

I was creating a pause menu consisting of an extra room, which is displaying a screenshot of the current view as background. Everything so far works very well, but I want to restore the previous background.
My persistent controller object manages the pausing. When I press the esc button, it saves 4 variables.
1. obj_Player.x
2. obj_Player.y
3. Current background
4. Current room id

I have 4 buttons in that pause room.
1. Continue
2. Save
3. Settings
4. Back to main menu

What I did for the first button was simply:

Sending the player back to the previous room with his last coordinates and replacing the screenshot background with the old background I was storing in that variable. All of these variables are global and everything works just fine. Except for replacing the background. I didn't know how to either refresh or dispose the background before drawing a new one.
What I have now is, that when I draw the old background, it overlaps with itself and creates weird pixels...
I'm currently not able to show you my code, cause I'm on the phone, but I would really appreciate you recommending me different methods on how to avoid getting this problem.

I already tried deleting the current (screenshot) background and creating the old one. I read about using surfaces, but I don't quite understand how that works.

P.S.: I think this problem only appears, when I pause the game while jumping / falling. Might be something else tho.