GM Studio Free legacy version

Discussion in 'Legacy GameMaker Community Tech Support' started by MrBenito, Jun 10, 2019.

1. MrBenito

MrBenito Member

Hello all! My name is Benito and I'm a school teacher in Argentina. We started in our city a free program/workshop to teach young kids programming and videogame design, I have some experience in the field and I've been teaching computer studies in the primary level for 7 years.
    My problem is that my workshop students come from the less-advantaged parts of the city and the community center where I am giving the workshop has dated hardware, this means that GMS2 is out of the question, it just doesn't run properly.
    So I've been trying to get a legacy version of GM studio 1.4. In this forum I found a link somewhere from yoyo site but after I installed this old version it doesn't work because it asks for a license or upgrade to GMS2.
    According to my knowledge and research there are no more free licenses and the community center/students do not have that kind of money to upgrade their hardware or buy GMs2 licenses so I'm wondering if there's any way to use legacy gamemaker studio 1.4 as a free program, this means with some features blocked, it doesn't matter to me since the workshop is pretty basic and straightforward.

Anyway, thanks for your responses in advance.

2. Andy

Andy Member

When I got GMS1 it came with a Steam activation code.
    The Steam version activates without going through YoYo Games, so it should be easier to install.
    If you have a YoYo account, try going to Products > GMS1 > License Recovery.
    This should send you an email with your product codes. Check the email for a Steam activation code.
    Hope this helps, I would love for a full DRM-free version of GMS1 to be released, but I don’t know if that would be a good business strategy for YoYo. :p

Attached Files:

3. rIKmAN

rIKmAN Member

This isn't going to help with a room full of students who don't have any existing licences.