1. Hello Guest! It's with a heavy heart that we must announce the removal of the Legacy GMC Archive. If you wish to save anything from it, now's the time! Please see this topic for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

GameMaker concepts and programming advice

Discussion in 'Game Design, Development And Publishing' started by Cotcho, Sep 12, 2019.

1. Cotcho

Cotcho Member

X-post from a reddit thread.

Im just starting out with GameMaker and really want to understand more than just copying tutorials.

Currently I’m following FriendlyCosmonaut’s “My first game” tutorial which is great and well presented albeit a little on the quick side. It also doesn’t deep dive into the reasons for said programming choices (it does briefly go over some aspects).

I can understand the code, and I know I can refer to the help documentation. however, my issue is if I wanted to do my own project I always feel I need to consult the video tutes to “copy” code.

My other issue is how to know where to put different bits of code where. What object or event is code supposed to go into.

Ultimately I would love to know how people like HeartBeast, Shaun Spalding, FriendlyCosmonaut etc

1 - learned how to use gamemaker

2 - learned where to put code (what object/event)

3 - learned how to piece things together properly

4 - learned how to find functions and how to know when they would need to develop their own functions

I would love to have a conceptual overview of everything. Being shown how to do things through tutorials doesn’t always close the gap on how to actually do it on your own. That’s not to say tutes are not valuable, they are and the above content creators are some of many to produce high quality stuff but I’d also like to know the why’s and how things work the way they do.

An example of what I found interesting and really helpful was this blog post:

https://www.yoyogames.com/blog/63/best-practices-when-coding-in-gamemaker-studio-2