Design Game Maker Studio beginner here.

• Thread starter fawfulthegreat64
  • Start date
F

fawfulthegreat64

If this is the wrong board, I apologize as I am still new here.

Anyways I need some tips to get me started on creating a game. The idea I have in mind is a 3D RPG in the vein of Mario & Luigi: Dream Team and Paper Jam (which have 3D worlds but use 2D sprites)

The game would be an unofficial sequel/redo of Paper Jam so it would have some flat characters that turn around ala Paper Mario, while others are sprites that always face the camera, like in Dream Team.

I have searched YouTube for tutorials on 3D RPGs but I can't find quite what I'm looking for. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

N

Nexusrex

(Well, i guess it's the wrong one)
Well, you've said you are a beginner. What did you do in GM:S? If you've just made something really simple or just readed the manual. I recommend to make simple things. Don't expect that when you open GMS and just you make a full game easily. It takes time to have experience.

F

fawfulthegreat64

Which board would this fit under then?

Also I realize I can't make a grand full game overnight, but I have to start somewhere. Is it possible to have a trail of four characters who all jump separately?

M

MikeDark_x

Which board would this fit under then?

Also I realize I can't make a grand full game overnight, but I have to start somewhere. Is it possible to have a trail of four characters who all jump separately?
It's possible, but for what I read, you are aiming for stuff that is a little bit advanced, you should get used to coding in gml before even thinking about coding in a 3D world, that's how it works, you should set your aim to stuff you can find in tutorials when you start

But after you've gone through all the trouble to understand the concepts behind GML... there's next to nothing that can stop you... well there is... new ideas while you're working on one... but nobody should speak about that...