• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Discussion Game Maker Studio 2 - Should I Use It?

J

James Geiger

Hi,

I am a developer but am just venturing into game development. I am building an MMORPG (please do not tell me how hard it is - I know). Should I start off on GMS2 Beta? Is it stable enough to use?

P.S. Can you build high-detail Isometric games with Game Maker Studio? And does GMS2 add any truly epic features over GMS1?

J

James Geiger

Seems pretty stable. You might find it lacking with no shaders etc. But you could always make a start with it.

Yes (in any version)

Not that I can see so far.
Awesome! And how do you find GMS as opposed to Unity? And how do you like writing GML code?

J

James Geiger

Great! I am sold :)

I am no expert in terms of game development (mostly a PHP developer) but I will do my best! I already found some awesome community made YouTube videos as well, so I am stocked!

I did read something though: I will need to create the engine for the game as GMS is more of an IDE than the engine....is that true?

JeffJ

I did read something though: I will need to create the engine for the game as GMS is more of an IDE than the engine....is that true?
Of course. This is one of the things that makes GameMaker great; it doesn't assume anything about the game you're making. This gives you full flexibility to do any kind of game you want (as opposed to something like RPG Maker, where you will always be tied down to a certain type of game to a degree).
GameMaker does offer you a lot of gamerelated stuff to get you off to a quick start, though - if you want, you can even utilize built-in friction, gravity, acceleration etc. (or do your own).