Portfolio - Programming [FREE] Intermediate-Level Programmer Looking to Collaborate

Discussion in 'Collaboration' started by spe, Sep 17, 2018.

1. spe

spe Member

Hi, everyone. I'm an intermediate-level GML programmer hoping to get in on a group project.

I got my start with programming in the early days of GameMaker 7, though I hadn't taken it very seriously until a couple years ago when I jumped back in with GameMaker: Studio. I don't claim to be an expert, and there are still some things I can't do. I know my way around the basics, and I should be able to handle most standard tasks.

I want to try working in a group, as I've been working solo throughout the entirety of my GML career. I have several half-finished games, but nothing complete. I believe working with a group will provide the motivation I need to see a project through to completion.

There are, however, some prerequisites to my joining:

- If I'm not particularly interested in your project, I won't likely participate. My taste in games is quite broad, but there are still some games I'm just not going to be invested in.
    - If the game is being sold or monetized, I'd expect a share of the profits... though I'll still work on a not-for-profit project if I'm interested in the game itself.
    - Patience. I do have a job and a life, and I can't necessarily work on the project every day.
    - This is a learning experience for me, too. I've never programmed with a group before. I'm competent, but don't expect flawless code. Whatever I create will probably still need to be optimized by someone more experienced, assuming the game's performance is important.
    - I'm currently working with GM:S 1.4. If I really love your project and team, I'd consider getting GM:S 2. Otherwise, I prefer to stay within GM:S 1.4 for now.
    - Maturity. I'm an adult, and I'd prefer to work mostly with other adults or other reasonably mature people.