Game Mechanics Fishing?

Hi there!

So I'm quite new to GMS2 and GML, although I've read and complete many tutorials and whatnot to expand my knowledge and I'd say I have come quite far in the past few weeks - I can do a majority of coding without having to refer to tutorials (aside from the manual). DS Lists however are a pain still.

If you couldn't tell by my picture, I enjoy fishing.

I'd like to be able to create a 2D fishing simulator / RPG - but I have no idea where to start for the fishing aspect of the game. I've tried looking for guides or tutorials but there doesn't seem to be any for fishing.

How, or where, would I start in developing a fishing system? (Not the RPG system or anything else, only the fishing aspect of the game).

I know it's quite a vague question but as I don't know where to start on developing one, I don't have a specific question on it.

Thanks for reading and thank you in advance for any helpful replies!

Perhaps a link to a video of a fishing mechanic your thinking of.
Sorry I should have mentioned - I guess something along the lines of Stardew Valley - where you are able to upgrade your fishing rod etc (not too bothered about the fish fighting mechanic as I'd like to implement my own).

woods

first thing on the list is to set up the basic flow of what you want to happen.
(very,very rough psudo-code)

there is going to be many many stages of development to make this happen tho

i would imaging the basic flow would go something along these lines..
==
move player around the map
detect when near enough to water
equip fishing rod
button press to cast line
set timer for fish to bite
check press to set the hook
button press to reel in line
search loot table for random loot
add loot to inventory
==

first thing on the list is to set up the basic flow of what you want to happen.
(very,very rough psudo-code)

there is going to be many many stages of development to make this happen tho