• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED First time making a game, character won't warp to the start of new level?

T

Tori

I am making a very simple Platformer to try and learn the basics of the program. I am having a problem with my warping as instead of warping to the start of a new room, my player will warp to the end of the room, making the level basically pointless. Any suggestions on how to fix it? I've tried some youtube tutorials and i'm still unsure what I've done wrong. Seems like it could be a pretty basic mistake though. If any part of this post is against the rules please let me know, it's my first time using the forums too.

fishfern

Hi there, welcome to the forums!

Hmm, it sounds like there could be some confusion in you warp code maybe? If possible, could you include a snippet of code from the code that 'warps' your player object?

T

Tori

Hi there, welcome to the forums!

Hmm, it sounds like there could be some confusion in you warp code maybe? If possible, could you include a snippet of code from the code that 'warps' your player object?
Hi, I'm still not sure what the right way to post code in this forum is, but here it is:

oPlayer Step Event
GML:
//Objects
var inst = instance_place(x,y,oWarp) ;
if (inst != noone) {
    with(oGame) {
        if(!doTransition) {
        spawnRoom = inst.targetRoom;
        spawnX = inst.targetX;
        spawnY = inst.targetY;
        doTransition = true;
        }
        }
}
oWarp Create Event
Code:
targetRoom = -1;
targetX = 0;
targetY = 0;
oGame Create Event (this was mostly to get a black screen effect when switching rooms but I'll put it here just in case)
Code:
guiWidth = display_get_gui_width();