• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Question - IDE File size of executable installer(SOLVED)

C

Clemens van Brunschot

Hi all, from the Netherlands, in the Eindhoven area. I am very new to GMS 2 (paid Windows version, downloaded to my laptop, not the Steam version, I like it a lot) and I managed to build my first project prototype.
But I encountered a problem now. This is my very first post.
My project files on disk are 50 MB (coming from 100 MB before size reduction actions), but my executable installer for Windows will not drop below 131 MB (coming from 149 MB).
This can hardly be normal...
What I did was: (1) reduce audio and graphics sizes, (2) rebuild sprites and objects, (3) many cleanups from the Build menu, (4) saved as a different project, (5) tried VM and YYC compilations, (6) reinstall the program, (7) restart Windows.
And after all these actions I encountered some more problems like the game starting with a white screen and unexpected behaviour of some of the keyboard keys.

Is it likely that the only solution is to totally rebuild the project (as is sometimes advised)?
Does anybody have experience with this?

Last edited by a moderator:
C

Clemens van Brunschot

The white screen when starting the game is very persistent.
However, if I build a new test game (almost empty), installer exe file size is only 16 MB and I do not get the white screen when starting the installed game.
So one tends to conclude that my other project has become messed up and calls for a rebuild., which is not unreasonable for a first game that a beginner builds...
Do you have experience with this?

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff
Scrapping everything should be a last resort, if anything at all.