Fighting Game Feasibility For A New Game Dev?

T

TreeSwallow8683

Hi!
I just downloaded the 30-day trial of Game Maker Studio 2 so I can investigate its features. Before I go any further, I thought I would ask: are there any good tutorials for this software that are specific to fighting game development? I have some cool ideas and am willing to put in the work, I just need to know how to begin, so any guidance on where to go to learn the skills necessary would be much appreciated! The game will be in somewhat-minimalist pixel art, so nothing too fancy, but I still want crisp animations and a bevy of simple moves for each of the characters for players to master. Everything else is under wraps. ;)
I'm COMPLETELY new to game development, so go easy on me when it comes to heavy, technical tutorials. I want to start off simple and build my knowledge from there.

woods

first thing that comes to mind... streetfighter!
definitely doable with GMS..

second thing that comes to mind.. since you said you are COMPLETELY new
(welcome to the club btw...)
start off small... learn the BASIC basics first

youll save yourself alot of headache.. learn how to do simple parts of games that apply to the end result that you are trying to create.. one would be suprised how much is involved in a simple pong or asteroids clone..

a few fundamentals to learn about first..
simple player movement
drawing values of variables to screen
reading/changing values from one instance to another
arrays and other data structures
state machine

most of all.. dont give up
there is alot of people here that are willing to go that extra mile to help you learn.. just gotta show a lil effort on your part.

Do not try to jump in a complicated game from zero or will you get so frustrated from failing to progress quickly that you give up.