• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Windows Fatal Error

S

SpaceKill

Hello.I'm new to gamemaker and I'm trying to make character movement (only left and right).
I've entered the neccesary code in a step event
if(keyboard_check(ord("A") ) ) {
x -= walkSpeed
image_Speed = walkSpeed / 3;
sprite_index = sprite41;

and I get this error when I press A
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object object34:

Variable object34.walkSpeed(100004, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_object34_Step_0 (line 5) - x -= walkSpeed
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Object_object34_Step_0 (line 5)
Thank you in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

rIKmAN

Variable object34.walkSpeed(100004, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
It's telling you that you haven't set the variable walkSpeed anywhere in your code before you try to subtract it from x.

Have you initialised a walkSpeed variable and given it a value in the Create event?

S

SpaceKill

It's telling you that you haven't set the variable walkSpeed anywhere in your code before you try to subtract it from x.

Have you initialised a walkSpeed variable and given it a value in the Create event?
Yeah.
here are the values
image_speed= 0;
walk_Speed = 3.5;

rIKmAN

I fixed it for the A key but i get this error with the D key
How do I solve this?
Thanks BTW