• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

FATAL ERROR: trying to index a variable which is not an array

N

NickCikovic

I have been working on an interesting 2D platform game for about 8 months now. Everything with development was going good until this weird error showed up when I was trying to implement a tile collision system. The reason I switched to a tile collision system from the original system is because it is supposed to make slopes easier to implement. I'm following a few different tutorials to make this 2D platform game into something special. The main ones I'm looking at are ones made by Shaun Spalding, so if the code looks familiar, it should. I swear, I followed along EXACTLY as I should, and for some reason, this error keeps popping up when it never did before. I refreshed the cache, didn't work. Tried modifying the code a bit, didn't work. It's telling me there's an error in Line 10 of the InFloor script and that it's being called from Line 70 of the oPlayer object's Step Event. I'm completely stumped and any help is appreciated. The code is as follows.

InFloor Script
GML:
/// @description Checks to see if position is below the floor height of a given tile, returns how deep in floor
/// @arg tilemap
/// @arg x
/// @arg y

var pos = tilemap_get_at_pixel(argument0,argument1,argument2);
if (pos > 0)
{
    if (pos == 1) return (argument2 mod TILE_SIZE); //solid block, would end up returning true anyway but this is FASTER, GOTTAGOFAST.
    var thefloor = global.heights[(argument1 mod TILE_SIZE) + (pos * TILE_SIZE)];
    return ((argument2 mod TILE_SIZE) - thefloor);
} else return -(TILE_SIZE - (argument2 mod TILE_SIZE));
oPlayer Step Event
GML: