3D Fake 3D light?

Fredrik

So we all know that the 3D light for GM is kinda limited as there's eight hardware lights avable..
Does anyone have some clever ways to easly create some sort of fake 3D light? not for lighting up but rather to add to the ambience.

Last edited by a moderator:

kraifpatrik

(edited)
GameMaker Dev.
You don't have to use any fake lights, you can write yourself a shader that would support more lights. Or find one here on the forum/marketplace/old GMC. Or I would know about one way that would allow you to have more than 8 lights while still using the GM's 3D lighting, but that would include drawing the scene multiple times and that would slow down your game.

Fredrik

Oh. I've never really gotten into shaders yet, even tho I've been using gm since gm7 and should probably be abit more updated about newer features. Any good suggestions that might be easy to add into the game? I have no experience with shaders at all and don't know how to make one myself.

M

MishMash

So there are multiple things to factor in here:

The 8 hardware lights is just a limitation of old-style directX 8 shaders. Since GM uses DirectX 9 now, we have the freedom to pass in as many lights as we want into shaders. That being said, if we are using forward rendering, this is inefficient as every pixel on screen needs to perform lighting calculations for every light. There are two main ways in which we can optimise lighting:

1) Forward pass lighting: We still pass lights into a shader, but we change which lights are active. This also applies to GM lights. Just because we are limited to 8 lights, this does not mean we can only use 8 lights in our scene, it simply means that we can only use 8 lights SIMULTANEOUSLY when rendering one object. Each time an object is rendered, you can simply place those 8 light points on the nearest 8 lights to that one object. Realistically, you dont even need 8 lights, you only need 3 or 4.