• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Evaluating GameMaker...what would the workflow be like for making an adventure game?

H

hathor

My background is that I have published one game to the Windows Store that I built the engine from scratch on the Monogame framework. I started on this open source project, but it was mostly a learning experience rather than a serious venture http://ruge.metasmug.com/

I found that to be a bit too much work really.

I got the Clickteam software with all the extras from Humble Bundle, but it seems a bit limited. I am not scared scripting code and for certain things I find that preferable. But working with Monogame is an awful lot of work and I was using that more as an intellectual challenge than to start making decent indie games.

Anyway, I have been getting really inspired by this game Fran Bow, and I feel like the interface they created was quite good. I would love to make a point and click adventure game like that, and am wondering how complicated it would be to set up an inventory system like that; if anyone is familiar with that game.

My background is in programming and composing music, I am very new to creating digital art. However I managed to get a 19" drawing tablet monitor where I can draw directly on the screen, and I have Clip Studio Pro and Spriter Pro and Sprite Illuminator. I also have Adobe CC and have plenty of Photoshop experience and some experience with AfterFX which I used to make some music videos. I also played around a bit with Unity and Blender, but nothing really gelled.