Android Escape Earth - a mobile pixel art game

Discussion in 'Work in Progress' started by TinyGamesLab, Jun 21, 2018.

1. TinyGamesLab

TinyGamesLab Member

Hello Folks! This is my first post.

I've been developing (but not finishing) on and off games since 2004 on my spare time, albeit always having a lot of fun coding them!
    I tried about everything you can imagine, GameMaker (Earlier versions), text based PHP, javascript, Unity and Scirra Constructor. Just this year I participated in my first game jam and actually published a game so that game the renewed my energies to try to finish an old concept, hence Space Flyer was born.
    This is a solo project, so I'm doing all (From coding to art and sounds). Since I'm doing it on my spare time, I have no great ambitions but maybe if I find the right partner, I could team up with someone to improve it.

[​IMG]

Game Idea
    You are in charge of getting a rocketship out of earth while earth is under attack, without getting destroyed, out of path or run out of fuel.

Since it is a mobile/browser game, controls are pretty simple. If you touch the left side of the screen (Or left arrow key), you turn the left booster on (right arrow key). Likewise, if you touch the right side of the screen, you turn the right booster on. Whenever a booster is on it consumes fuel, which can be gained by gathering satelites as you go up.
    The ship is affected by gravity, inertia and drag. You control the boosters but you have to take into account that your actions do not result in immediate reactions of the ship.

I intend on adding some reward system, such as getting "coins" in other games. This way the player can buy special equipment to help the next run.

Also there will be achievement goals, such as getting over certain height or running for some amount of time. This would serve as an incentive to fulfill all available goals.

Coding