• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Enemy sound effect stack issue (simultaneous sound play) [solved]

Samples

Hello I'm new to this account but not to this place lol anyways

upload_2019-9-2_12-57-0.png

There is multiple enemies that are lined up.
After a certain time, they open up, shoot, and play a sound.

the issue is since they all are next to each other, and they all open up at the same time....the shot sound is rather....loud, as it's stacking. Is there a way to keep it so the sound effect plays at it's default volume, even if multiple enemies are playing the sound simultaneously?

GMWolf

aka fel666
You can use the audio_is_playing function to check if a particular sound is played.
That way you can check for it to make sure only one instance of each sound plays at a time.

Another option is to stop a sound before playing it using audio_stop_sound, that way a sound can repeat even if it hasn't finished.

Finally, if you want sounds to overlap and repeat, but not play multiple during the same frame, you could set a global variable "played_sound_this_frame" (or something to that effect) to try when you play a sound, and check that to make sure its unique.
Then reset the value to false at the end / beginning of the frame.

Samples

Hi, thanks for responding. I am using GM8.0 pro and therefore the audio_ commands I am not using, but rather sound_play etc.