Legacy GM Enemy jump, wait, repeat

G

Gino Collins

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to Gamemaker and GML. I've been stuck on this for a few hours now and feel like this should be obviously simple. I am making a 2D platformer and want the enemies to simply jump up and down, wait a few seconds and then repeat. I finally got the jumping part working but can't seem to get a delay in between jumps.

My jump code is:

vsp += grav;

if (place_meeting(x, y+vsp,objSolid))
{
while(!place_meeting(x,y+sign(vsp),objSolid))
{
y += sign(vsp);
}
vsp = -3;
}

y += vsp;

objSolid is just the floor. I've been messing with alarms and timelines and can't seem to get anything top work correctly. The closest I've got is for the enemy to jump and then it gets stuck in midair and doesn't move. So basically no progress.

What am I missing??

TheouAegis

{
alarm[0] = room_speed;
{
y += sign(vsp);
}
vsp=0;
}
y += vsp;

Alarm 0 event: vsp=-3;

Niels

Basically use a alarm or make a costum alarm that starts counting when the enemy jumps. Then when it fires, it resets the alarm and the enemy jumps again

G

Gino Collins

{
alarm[0] = room_speed;
{
y += sign(vsp);
}
vsp=0;
}
y += vsp;

Alarm 0 event: vsp=-3;
That's pretty much what I thought but I must have something else messed up. I quickly tried it before work . It stops the jumping but doesn't trigger the alarm.

Niels

That's because the alarm is reset to room_speed(60) on every step as long as the enemy is touching the ground, that way it never reaches 0 :)

Set the alarm[0] = room_speed; in the create event of the enemy object.
Then in the alarm event:
Vsp - =3;
alarm[0] = room_speed

TheouAegis

Oh yeah, he had persistent gravity. I forgot about that first line in his code. I've gotten used to all the people who do the "if not place_meeting(x,y+1,obj_ground) vsp+=grv" method.

He'll need to adjust what he sets alarm[0] to in its alarm event, because that alarm will be ticking down while he's in the air when you do it that way.

G

Gino Collins