Question - Code Drawing within With clause

Discussion in 'GameMaker Studio 2 Community Tech Support' started by mdbussen, Dec 4, 2017.

  1. mdbussen

    mdbussen Member

    Jul 8, 2016
    I'm not sure if this is a bug or intended behavior, but it did not behave how I expected:

    • Let's see you have two objects, obj_a and obj_b.
    • These objects are on two different layers in the room, layer_a and layer_b
    • within the draw event of obj_a, if you use:
    with (obj_b){
       draw_sprite(spr_name, 0, 0, 0);
    • the sprite actually gets drawn on layer_a, NOT layer_b.
    Is this the intended behavior? I had thought that any code within the "with" block was being run from the perspective of the "with" instance, meaning that the sprite should be drawn on layer_b (the layer that the object obj_b is on).
  2. 2Dcube

    2Dcube Member

    Jun 23, 2016
    I think it's not actually drawn from the perspective of the other instance, I believe "with" just means you have access to the instance's variables.

    Also thinking about it logically, it would be difficult for the computer to draw things on different depths within a single script. The computer goes through the scripts one by one and retroactively drawing something underneath something else isn't possible. (Correct me if this crude technical analysis is wrong).
    mdbussen likes this.
  3. FrostyCat

    FrostyCat Member

    Jun 26, 2016
    This is perfectly expected behaviour that I've explained in one of my articles:
    A with block allows you to access another instance's variables and execute actions as another instance, but it won't allow you to do things retroactively. Once anything drawn makes its way onto the application canvas, all that matters is which got there first. Layers and depth don't count anymore.
    csanyk and mdbussen like this.
  4. mdbussen

    mdbussen Member

    Jul 8, 2016
    Okay, thank you for confirming. I was confused by the GMS2 documentation which says "[the code within the with clause] is now executed for each of the indicated instances, as if that instance is the current (self) instance."

    It does make sense that drawing order could not be "patched in" retroactively in such a way though.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice