• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Drawing code repeats and never moves on

S

Sojourner

Quick little preface. I'm new to GMS2 and programming entirely, so any errors I will make will likely seem very obvious to experienced programmers. Thanks for checking my thread out, and thank you in advance for any help.

The sprite is supposed to sink into the ground and rise back up where the player clicked. When I click somewhere, however, the sprite sinks but does not reappear. At the moment, the sprite is just going to reappear close by the original sprite, so I can see if it works.

There is a spot in the code that the program never runs, this is noted in the code.

/// @desc Draw Sprite

// Variables
anim_length = 5;
frame_size = 26;
anim_speed = 10;

x_offset = frame_size/2;
y_offset = frame_size/2;

if (moveNot = true){ draw_sprite_part(spr_player_move_sheet, 0, 0, 0, frame_size, frame_size, x-x_offset, y-y_offset); }

// Sinking Sprite
if(moveSink = true){
moveNot = false;
draw_sprite_part(spr_player_move_sheet, 1, floor(x_frame)*frame_size, y_frame, frame_size, frame_size, x-x_offset, y-y_offset);
if(x_frame < 5) { x_frame += 10/room_speed; } // room_speed = 60
else if (x_frame > 5){ // Game never gets here. If I set it to >= 5, it sets back to the basic sprite after sinking.
moveSink = false;
moveRise = true;
show_debug_message("It works.");
draw_sprite_part(spr_player_move_sheet, 2, floor(x_frame)*frame_size, y_frame, frame_size, frame_size, x+frame_size, y+frame_size);
if(x_frame < anim_length) { x_frame += anim_speed/room_speed; } // room_speed = 60
else { moveRise = false; moveNot = true;}

}

}