• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Discussion Does somebody knows where can I learn more about music?

T

Thexel PIN

I'm interested in music composition and the youtube tutorials won't cut it. Until now most of what I know has been self-taught, so I would like other sources...

K

Kuro

I'm interested in music composition and the youtube tutorials won't cut it. Until now most of what I know has been self-taught, so I would like other sources...
There are often music theory courses on EdX, MIT's free online learning platform. Courses are completely free to join and participate in. EdX make money from selling optionall certificates of completion. https://www.edx.org/

If you're looking for something more specific to video game music, I know there's a udemy.com course by Karleen Heong that focuses on composing video game music. If you wait till one of Udemy's many sales (feels like they have a sale on every other week) you can pick it up for as little as $15.

0.Bytes

They have some good material here https://en.coursera.org/berklee.

If you are going to study via youtube, I would suggest you to learn some basic music theory first, then download a DAW, learn to use, if you need help send me a message

G

gibberingmouther

i agree with NazGhul. also while more music theory can't hurt i think it's mainly exposure to existing compositions that teaches you how to compose. you compose piece by piece and determine each piece by whether it sounds right/good or not.

C

Codec080