SOLVED Does declaring many global variables at the start of a game slow loading time down?

otterZ

In the project I am working on I have around 200 global variables being declared and initialised in a Create event in the very first room (start up screen). As I add more content to the project I could end up with 1000+ global variables, so my question is this . . .

Does declaring and initialising a thousand or so variables at the start of the first room of the game slow loading time down? Would it be better to split global variable declarations up instead if this is the case? Or would declaring 1000+ global variables at the start of the game have hardly any effect on loading of the first room?

The 200 or so global variables I have declared in a Create event in a controller object in the very first room so far have not slowed loading time. However, I have no experience as to whether 1000+ global variables would. Would it be like the blink of an eye or a 6 second slowdown or something like that?

[Please note: I am deliberately using global variables, as the values they hold need to be accessed in many parts of the app/game.]

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
Assigning variables is FAST so I wouldn't worry about it, especially if you are doing it at the start of the game. GameMaker games load very quickly anyway, so even if there was a few extra microseconds added when you create those globals, I don't think most people would notice or care. :)

pj_Yama

Hard to say how much it will affect your game without debugging, the best bet will be to dive into the Debugger to check memory usage and see how it scales as you add more variables. Global variables are retained in memory until the end of the game, so they definitely will affect memory but i would imagine it's a negligble amount depending on what else is happening and what type of data you're storing.