Does anyone know how i draw points only that are within the area displayed by viewport[0] ?

Hello everyone ! I'm studying game maker studio 2.3+ and I would like to draw a starry sky to make a simple spaceship game, but I would like to randomly generate them in random X and Y positions, as the map is 3000x3000 in size, so why not despite the game, I would like you to draw points only the stars that are inside the area displayed by the ViewPort[0] . if you can draw on a layer directly, that's even better.
Can someone help me ?

Last edited:

rIKmAN

Some things like Width of the view in the room and Height of the view in the room may be a good place to start.

If you want to draw to a specific layer, just create the layer in the "Layers" portion of your "Room Editor" tab and add an object to that layer that handles the drawing of your starry sky.
Sorry to be that guy, but you've linked to the GMS 1.4 manual when OP is using GMS 2.3.

The Camera and Viewports section of the GMS2.3 manual will be what they want, all the function are listed at the bottom.
Likely camera_get_view_width() / camera_get_view_height() if using a camera, or view_wport[] / view_hport[] for the equivalents of the v1.4 functions you linked to.

Some things like Width of the view in the room and Height of the view in the room may be a good place to start.

If you want to draw to a specific layer, just create the layer in the "Layers" portion of your "Room Editor" tab and add an object to that layer that handles the drawing of your starry sky.
my fear is that I can't create layers that move independently of each other, with layers of type instances is it possible to move them in the same way as a layer of type background?

Sorry to be that guy, but you've linked to the GMS 1.4 manual when OP is using GMS 2.3.

The Camera and Viewports section of the GMS2.3 manual will be what they want, all the function are listed at the bottom.