• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED DoAdd error with ds_map

hey there!

I'm very new to data structures, so my code won't be great.

I'm trying to make a map system that I'm using as an inventory for my survival game. For some reason I don't understand, I keep getting this error.

of Step Eventofirstaid
for object player:

DoAdd :1: undefined value
at gml_Object_player_Collision_pickupparent (line 10) - value += ds_map_find_value(global.inventory,key);
############################################################################################
gml_Object_player_Collision_pickupparent (line 10)

Here's the code in question. Its in a collision even with a parent to the pickups.

var key_pickup = keyboard_check_pressed(ord("E"))

if key_pickup {
if other.object_index != noone {
var key = other.object_index;
show_debug_message("keyis: "+string(key))
var value = 1;
show_debug_message("valueis: "+string(value))

value += ds_map_find_value(global.inventory,key);

ds_map_add(global.inventory,key,value);

show_message("Item: "+string(key)+" Value: "+string(value))

instance_destroy(other)
}
}

I did a little bit of research, and found that the DoAdd error is generally when the computer tries to add a value to something that can't have values added to it. To be honest, it should be a simple fix but I need a little help because I'm so darn new.

Thanks for stopping by, I can give you any other events and lines of code if you ask for them.

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games