Designing placement of brick/ball object collisions

Hey all,

I'm a developer but haven't done much with game development and GameMaker Studio 2 for much longer than a few weeks. I'm recreating an old game that is a spin on the class ball-breaks-bricks game. It's more complicated then that but that's the idea.

I have about 14 different bricks that all have different sprites and different behaviour when the ball collides with them. I've designed a ball and 14 different objects, and need to create collision events between the ball and each of the bricks. I'm trying to avoid copying-and-pasting the logic (it works just fine) that will calculate the ball's rebounding angle/speed into each of the collision events. Any ideas or better way to design it?

My very first attempt was to put all the collision events between the ball and the different bricks, on the ball itself, but then (as far as I know) I couldn't put that rebound logic in a parent brick object which was another idea. I feel like I'm missing something.

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
Make a "parent_brick" object and make it the parent of all the brick objects, then give the ball code for colliding with the parent_brick only; its child objects will be treated as special cases of the parent.

Tyg

there is point_in_circle and point_in_rectangle funcs that work quite well
I made something similar a pool game that used gamemakers physics, worked quite well
the balls were all parented but certain things were overridden. like the cue ball or 8 ball
the cushions were parented off a solid object which was semi-transparent so i could see and shape them in the editor
and then visibility off in the game..the physics system has gravity and friction cant remember but the rebound was pretty easy too
was quite amazed ..and it was quite fun..
pool.jpg