SOLVED Custom Shadow Color?

S

Slothagami

I have been battling with the shadows in my games for quite a while now and can't seem to do this myself,

I want to have shadows for each object, in the shape of their object, and using a different color based on the color behind the shadow (to fit with the color palette) I am very new to shaders and don't know how I might do this, or if I even need a shader for this. I want to avoid just having a surface with the shadow's making the pixels x% darker, this game is more art focused so I want the shadow colors to have the hue shifting from my color pallet so that it matches the other sprites I've drawn.

This is the desired result:
Mockup-export.pngMockup-export.png
The sprite's shadow is over two colors and I have a custom shadow color for each I would like to use.

If possible I would also like it to obey the depth like in the second picture (not as important).

Thanks in advance!

The Final result in game:
1594549631937.png

GML:
// The shader
// the vertex shader has not been changed

varying vec2 v_vTexcoord;
varying vec4 v_vColour;

uniform sampler2D alpha_mask;

void main()
{
    vec4 color = texture2D( gm_BaseTexture, v_vTexcoord );
    vec4 mask = texture2D( alpha_mask, v_vTexcoord );

if(color == vec4(0.6, 0.756862745, 0.505882353, mask.a)) // green
        color = vec4(0.2578125, 0.6, 0.576470588, mask.a);

if(color == vec4(vec3(0.388235294), mask.a)) // grey
        color = vec4(vec2(0.207843137), 0.231372549, mask.a);

// add other colors here as needed
    // color is vec4(red / 255, green / 255, blue / 255, 1)

gl_FragColor = color;
}
GML:
// Draw GUI Begin Event
surface_set_target(shadow_surf);
    draw_clear_alpha(c_black, 0);
    shader_set(shd_white);
        with all {
            if sprite_exists(sprite_index) and visible {
                var 
                cx = camera_get_view_x(view_camera[0]),
                cy = camera_get_view_y(view_camera[0]),